: Replacing the AIR Control Valve... NEED HELP!!!

Kartune
06-21-13, 07:38 AM
I am a girl with a 2001 Cadillac Catera. I am determined to learn how to fix this car myself. That being said, I am replacing my AIR Control Valve which I have attached an image of to this post. I need some advice or a step by step walkthrough on how to do this. **Please don't forget to mention any important steps that anybody should already know, as I am a beginner and clueless to this, but DETERMINED! So thanks in advanced to whoever has the time to help me learn this.

investor74
06-21-13, 08:36 AM
Here's what is says in the manual:

Removal:

1. Disconnect the vacuum hose.

2. Remove the valve to the bracket fasteners.

3. Loosen the hose clamps.

4. Disconnect the air hoses.

5. Remove the assembly from the vehicle.

Installation:

1. Install the the assembly to the vehicle.

2. Connect the air hoses.

3. tighten the hose clamps.

4. Install/tighten the valve to the bracket fasteners.

5. Reconnect the vaccuum hose.

MoistCabbage
06-21-13, 10:39 AM
:welcome:

Those tension style hose clamps can be a PITA to remove without the correct removal tool. Might be worth buying a set of hose clamp pliers.

retho78
06-21-13, 02:33 PM
I just use nose pliers or channel lock to get it out.

Kartune
06-22-13, 02:14 AM
Thank you all for your quick replies! Sounds pretty simple, however, the step 'Install the the assembly to the vehicle' is where I am a little intimidated. Due to the two screws that secure it in place that come from underneath. How would I get to this? Is there other parts I should remove to have better access? Or is it easier than it appears?

retho78
06-22-13, 12:45 PM
Remove thr bracket that is mounted to the radiator fan side area and you'll get access to bolt under the valve.

Stwoodworth
12-20-13, 09:57 PM