: 2008 STS - TPMS sensor problems

dustinrw
06-20-13, 02:51 AM
K had nitro put in tires two days ago. Rides much better. While driving service tmps comes on. LR tire is not working. Went back today and had them reset all of them. Worked fine then started it again. Me guys said that the tmps sensor may be bad because battery is weak in it. Said best bet was a new one from Cadillac. Cost $180??? Does anyone have ideas? Can aftermarket work? First time I've ever experienced this. Thanks

ddalder
06-20-13, 04:36 AM
A 5-6 year life span for TPMS sensors is about right. Given the age of your car, I wouldn't be surprised if it's near/at the end of its useful life. $180 sounds expensive, unless it includes installation. Even then it's a bit rich. I don't think the nitrogen had anything to do with this, I think it's likely coincidental. Some people have used aftermarket sensors but I have no experience with these. I'm pretty OE specific in my replacement parts.

Ludacrisvp
06-20-13, 08:49 AM
Parents replaced their TPMS on the 04 SRX about a month ago... about $100 each for the device, they were getting new tires on at the time so install may have been free / cheaper because of that.

GM Parts direct shows this for the STS:
[ 1 ] ELECTRICAL / ELECTRICAL / TIRE PRESSURE MONITOR COMPONENTS / TPMS sensor
tpms sensor
MSRP: $109.06
Online price: $56.71

Loren
06-20-13, 05:27 PM
http://www.ebay.com/sch/i.html?_trksid=p2047675.m570.l1313.TR0.TRC0&_nkw=GM+20923680&_sacat=0&_from=R40

GM part # 20923680 Rock auto also has good prices. Check your valve stems to see which ones you have now, the rubber or metal stems.

dustinrw
06-20-13, 07:43 PM
I have the metal ones. Also how do know what the part number would be. I was told they run on a specific frequency and want to get the right ones. I do appreciate all of your help :-)

EChas3
06-21-13, 12:28 AM