: For the geeks: Did I mention I love PHP?

Sinister Angel
02-05-05, 03:58 PM
I think my streak over the past few days of Apache/directory listing customization is a message from god that I should start coding more and actually learn PHP instead of hacking shit together as I go.

Few days ago I got bored and started playing around with Apache's HeaderName and ReadmeName directives. Well, I had played around with them prior because a friend wanted to know how to change the link color for his directory listings on his site, but I didn't really get too involved, just did some code to call a CSS file.

Then, like I said, I started playing with customizing directory listings a few days ago a bit more heavilly. At first, I wanted to change the header so it said "Thank you for perusing the directory listing of *dir*"
Well, I tried using SSI (which I more or less gave myself a crash course in) and tried echoing PATH_INFO. But for whatever reason, I couldn't seem to get that to work. No big deal - I have PHP :D

Well, I originally tried using a php file itself in the HeaderName directive - then I found out that it only takes files with the mimetype of text/*. Well, that's a nogo for PHP (Remember kids, PHPs mimetype is application/x-httpd-php). Oh well, no big deal, back to using server side includes. Well, that works like a champ. Only problem is that it will show the sorting options if the link is clicked. I'll save that problem for another day.