: Lets discuss Engine/Trans tuning...

Fierofiend
06-14-13, 03:47 PM
So I'm ready to start tuning my car and I'm looking for general advice our cars may have when it comes to reads, full/partial writes,etc. I've tuned a few 3800s from minor transmission tweaks, to full VE/MAF tune, etc. I also run an AEM stand alone on my 3800 fiero that I make changes to almost every time I drive it. While I'd say I have some basic experience, I admit I don't know the ins/outs of what this car has available to play with. The reason for this post is for me (and others) to try to learn from those that work with our cars, and that may already know what they do, or do not like. For example, I've always been told to not disrupt voltage when doing full writes on my GP. For this reason, I turn off headlights via ebrake, don't run any accy's, don't open the doors, don't mess with the windows, etc. I don't know what voltage spikes may do, but the 'smarter' ones say to do it, so I take the precautions. Also, there were others that already knew what the transmission likes with regards to the necessary changes to pressures/shift points, etc when I swapped to 3.29s, so I listened to them.

I'm ignorant when it comes to our cars. I would like to start of by adjusting the transmissions parameters. Any suggestions when I do my first full read (for backup), any suggestions where to start, any links to 6L80e writeups, etc? All help will be appreciated.

Things I've found so far..
Most likely need to pull TCM fuse after full read
Always need to do a full write

Good trans basics writeup:
http://www.g8board.com/forums/showthread.php?t=65550

Fierofiend
06-19-13, 09:46 AM