: Update on the Oldsmobile

Night Wolf
02-03-05, 01:08 AM
Well, after the Olds got hit in the right quarter panel, and I got the insurance check, I talked with the auto-body teacher at vo-tec, since i am a student there, they work on students cars for just the price of materials (they get a discount too)

so I coudln't pass up the deal, and for them to work on my Olds, which included, but not limited to: pulling out right side of front bumper (push in... was hit at one time, that way when I bought it) putting on the good (used) driver door and fender (damaged from me hitting a telephone poll last year) fix the dents where it was recently hit (I hit them out, but they will do a better job) and on the bottom of that quarte panel, it was rotted out, so they are welding in new sheet metal, also on the underbody on the right side under the rear seat is a rotted area... theya re fixing that, and on both inner fenders, right in front of the strut towers it is rotted, they will fix that too. Then the car is getting sanded down and whatnot, every single little dent and ding will be filled in, then the car will start the process of being painted (they are going to paint the good door and fender off of the car) the paint will be base coat/clear coat... and in the origanal color, Platinum Metallic, hopefully with a red pinstrip also (probably the tape stuff.. origanal was painted)

So anyway, I removed the door panel from both the driver door and the spare door, and I removed the bottom part of the back seat, everything in the car was cleaned out, I had the car washed, I filled it with gas, put my locking gas cap on it and drove it to vo-tec

That was Monday, I stopped by after class Monday to talk more to the teacher and just in that time they got the door and fender out of the car (door was in back seat fender was in the trunk) and started to prepare them to be stripped and painted.