: I'll be driving the '79 DeVille for a while...

Night Wolf
01-28-05, 02:20 PM
The Oldsmobile was origanally my winter car, but now it is on the road all the time... anyway, the paint is really bad and faded, then last winter I side-swipped a telephone poll which damaged the left fender and driver door. I bought a new door and fender after that, but they are still off the car, and still red.

Then about a month ago when in a parking lot, someone drove into the right quarter panel... long story short I got an insurance check for $1,239. I spent it already on various things that I did/didn't need, but not before setting $500 aside.... I am a student at the vo-tech (aviation) and the auto body shop works on students cars, so I went there and talked to the teacher...

another long story short, they will do all the rust repair... are on the underbody where it is rotted thru, the quarter panel that was hit was already rotted on the bottom, but when it got hit, it made it worse, and the inner fender on both sides are rotted a little... not only that but they are going to fill in every little dent and ding on the car, then remove the damaged door and fender, paint the new (used) ones I have, put them on..... and the whole car is going to get repainted. I was quoted $500 for it, so I am setting $600 on the side just to be safe.

This is great, the Oldsmobile will look like new when this is done, the interrior is in nice shape (needs new headliner... I'll do that in the summer) and the drivetrain is solid... with 127k on the car, there is alot of life left :)