: Bought 1998 Deville 4 days ago - overheating

znewsom842
06-03-13, 11:02 AM
I should guess that norms serts or the big serts would probably be a good way for you to go especially if you have a hook up for discount/wholesale priced oem parts. Also there's a water pump cover upgrade much discussed here that might be worth lookin into.

Welcome Ray, I'm also a ASE Master Tech who in the last year or so was thrust into intimate knowledge of the Northstar system by necessity of ownership and the desire to actually use the car for at least another 80K+. Like California, Northstar's a brand new game. I'll give you my tips and lessons learned.
1. Quickest way to replace head gaskets = in car. Quickest way to overhaul the engine is the only way, out. If you're going to do timing chains or reseal the bottom end plan on taking it out. If it's just a fix it quick just pull the heads in the car.