: How much oil can a catch can catch?

vagondr
06-02-13, 04:22 PM
The first I heard about a catch can was from this forum. After some research I figured out what it does and how to install one. I'm a conservative driver (don't think I've ever reached 5K rpm and average over 18 mpg) so I was surprised to find my Monson CC full in less than 1K miles. After monitoring collection I find I discard about 4 oz. each 1K miles. The significance being not only that I'm protecting my entire intake from significant contamination, but at this rate of a quart/8K miles, the amount I need to add to the crankcase, my engine virtually burns no oil, so consider this when factoring in oil consumption. The Monson product is obviously very efficient. The only drawback is that the small container holds only 3 ounces so it needs frequent attention.

Houdini
06-02-13, 06:30 PM
Wow, I'm not sure I could enjoy this car keeping it under 5k rpm. You need to get out there and do some no lift shifting! :)

baabootoo
06-02-13, 11:00 PM
I think these are a solution to a problem that "may" not exist. I haven't seen a story where there were significant issues like misfire, lost horsepower, leaks, etc, associated with NOT having a catch can. In a race motor, it maybe a different story with crankcase pressures. Does a falling tree make noise when it falls in an empty forest?????????

hakalugi
06-02-13, 11:00 PM
LOL, I was proud of myself for passing 5K RPM only 3 times today...

Back On Topic: any pics of your catch can install, or links to another thread? These seem to be very critical in the direct injected V10 in previous gen Audi's, didn't think they were on my radar with the LSA...

SC2150
06-03-13, 02:11 PM