: OVERHEATING (Long)

TurboRay
05-20-13, 03:58 PM
Hi guys & gals - Altho I'm an ASE-certified "Master Mechanic", I'm a total newb to Northstar engines. A family friend has a '98 Deville (193K) that's overheating. Oddly enough, it's not manifested by popping hoses, steaming outta the tailpipe or boiling over.......BUT, only by the temp readout on the dash, which has sometimes displayed 239 in normal driving. And, YES, the coolant DOES exhibit the pungent h/gask odor to a small extent.

I recently replaced a leaking w/pump and also installed a new t/stat (preventative). I haven't done a "block check" and hate throwing parts at a prob to find the cure - but, in spite of that credo, I DID install a new radiator......only because my friend used some (yech) Bars Leak recently, and I thought it might have restricted the rad tubes.

Soooooo..............here I am contemplating the dreaded h/gask replacement and - naturally - I have all the newb questions that y'all have probably answered millions of times:

1. What's easier/quicker overall........in-car or OUT?
2. If "out", should I pull the motor from the top or drop the whole eng/trans/cradle outta the bottom (I have a Rotary 9K car hoist and a "table").
3. How can I determine whether the block threads are stripped/weak........should I try to retorque the existing bolts prior to disassembly?
4. Do the heads typically crack or require resuracing (I'll check 'em w/straightedge, but just wondering).
5. Who makes the best gasket kit? Bolts? I was thinking of getting the Victor-Reinz set.
6. Since I doubt I'll be doing a whollotta these, I was thinking of renting - rather than buying - a Time-Sert (sp?) kit online, if nec. ($80 rental + $3 each inserts).
7. Finally (whew)......what, if any, special tool(s) will I need? I've seen pics of all sorts of 'em, including a t/c "holder" (looks like a spreader or sorts) and a set of 4 "hooks" with blocks on the other end.

Have I forgotten anything? Timing-chain/guide/tensioner wear?