: Rear shocks

Johnny Kaka
05-18-13, 07:05 PM
Hello again everyone. I need to swap the rear shocks on my '90 Brougham. I live in a neighborhood where the roads are atrocious, and the hill sare steep. I was thinking about buying these guys:

http://www.autozone.com/autozone/parts/Gabriel-Load-Carrier-Shock-Strut-Rear/1990-Cadillac-Fleetwood-Brougham/_/N-igi82Z8oxxx?itemIdentifier=101022_6880_7413_

Would anyone recommend them? Or not?

Is there a set that anyone could recommend? I was going to go with the basic shock, but the previous owner disconnected the electronic leveling system. I thought I'd keep it disco'd and put in a stronger shock. Bad idea or good?
Thanks in advance!

csbuckn
05-18-13, 07:08 PM
I'd get the air adjustable shocks and route the air line to the back bumper with a schrader valve. That way you can adjust the ride height and stiffness to you liking.

Johnny Kaka
05-18-13, 11:46 PM
The hi-Jackers? Is that a difficult install? I'm not too experienced, never swapped shocks before. But I might be interested in those, if it's not too complicated.

cadillac kevin
05-18-13, 11:58 PM
The hi-Jackers? Is that a difficult install? I'm not too experienced, never swapped shocks before. But I might be interested in those, if it's not too complicated.

I installed air shocks on my safari van...they're not too hard to plumb up. I've also removed shocks from junkyard B/C bodies....not that hard unless the shocks are rusted in place (in which case, bust out the sawzall)

csbuckn
05-19-13, 12:33 AM
Not the hijackers, a set for a cadillac or caprice of the same year. I'd search for 90 caprice air shocks and see whats out there. Install isnt too bad as long as you can get in tight, awkward spaces.

turbojimmy
05-19-13, 07:27 AM