: New to the ATS. manual vs auto

donavo
04-21-13, 08:08 PM
hi guys. i just picked up an ATS 2.0T with 6 speed manual. its good so far but im not experienced in manual transmissions. i actually pretty much learned it on the test drive. now im just carefully practicing. ive done heavy research on the matter and know the technical stuff on most things but i still need practice. i would have taken the auto but it wasnt available with the options i wanted at the price i wanted. anway, aside from that, i would like to get opinions from you guys on which is the better choice? the reason i ask this is because i read in several places that the manual tranny for ATS is really bad. so even stick drivers choose manual tranny in some cases.

can anyone verify any of that? thank you.

kmb32687
04-21-13, 08:43 PM
Manual on ATS is not that bad. It's actually better than my old 335i. The shifter was so sloppy. ATS is more stiff and I like that.

You just need to practice more. It takes awhile to get use to it. I love manual and I will never look back to automatic.

donavo
04-21-13, 09:37 PM
Manual on ATS is not that bad. It's actually better than my old 335i. The shifter was so sloppy. ATS is more stiff and I like that.

You just need to practice more. It takes awhile to get use to it. I love manual and I will never look back to automatic.

really? dam. maybe i made a decent choice then. the only issue for me is i live in LA and traffic is hardcore obviously. so im actually looking forward to how this treats me in traffic. im sure i will hate it....but i just want to know how much i will hate it. lol.

Stevo Supremo
04-21-13, 10:29 PM
yeah the manual is pretty good, I got mine with the stick and am really happy with it. the cars just laughably easy to stall though, and the hill assist can freak ya out if you're not used to it

torkibe
04-21-13, 10:56 PM