: My Cadillac service rep is INSANE

CTS-Vluvr
04-12-13, 04:59 PM
I called my Martin Cadillac service rep to get a quote on replacing the front and rear brake pads on my 2011 CTS-V and he quoted me $1,600! I did some searching and spoke with a rep at tirerack.com and he recommended these http://www.tirerack.com/brakes/brakes.jsp?make=Hawk&model=HPS+Street+brake+pads&group=HPS+Street+brake+pads&partNum=HB649F605&autoMake=Cadillac&autoModel=CTS-V&autoYear=2011&autoModClar=Sedan . Is my Cadillac rep insane or does he just think I'm stupid? 106682

RaVeNous
04-12-13, 05:33 PM
Pretty much pad installed by any shop is a ripoff.

They look in a book and charge you the hours the book says even if it takes half the time. They do that with everything - most shops do. I wish I could do that for my job.

Brake pads are pretty easy, and I'm by no means a mechanic AT ALL. I know a couple guys that help me with tools and such. Rotors are a pain to get off sometimes, but if youre talking just changing out the pads, hell ya buy the parts yourself, don't pay their nutso markup on parts. Find a shop, a good mom and pop place if you don't have time to install them yourself or the tools. Ask around there are some really good mom and pop gas station type places that for work like this can be plenty safe. $1600 bucks, freaking screw them, I would laugh in my dealers face if they wanted that.

CTS-Vluvr
04-12-13, 05:55 PM
Pretty much pad installed by any shop is a ripoff.

They look in a book and charge you the hours the book says even if it takes half the time. They do that with everything - most shops do. I wish I could do that for my job.