: 2004 CTS-V - Bought 4 months ago, what first?

Equillian
03-27-13, 06:31 PM
https://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.523250947687003.123722.100000063070992&type=3

There.s some pictures of the car we're talking about. I'm really proud of her, but I'd like to turn it into "my" car. I'm a tech guy, not necessarily a performance driver. I do tend to gun it off the line, and get up to speed fast, but nothing over 85mph (I think 92 was the fastest I've gone so far). That said, I'm looking for ideas. Here's what's wrong with it:

72k miles.
Hood pin (near window) rattles on driver's side
Rear airbag panels are kinda falling down.
it TELLS me everytime I start it up to check the oil, but I have, and it's fine.
Driver side rear wheel panel has been chewed up, like someone took a grinder to the well (about 1inch x 6inch along the wheel well)

Other than that, it runs pretty sweet. It's peppy, and doesn't complain no matter how bad I'm driving it.

I also would REALLY like to replace the stereo with something touchpad, then maybe a good tuning, and eventually, some "throatier" exhaust.

What order, or more importantly, what would you guys do first? Something I haven't thought of?

OneFast V
03-27-13, 07:00 PM
After you replace what I would guess is a bad oil level sensor, my first mods would be: motor mounts (CS, revshift or UMI), diff bushing (CS or revshift), LS7 clutch+ flywheel (lindsay cadillac), short shifter (Pissnuoff, katech, UUC, others) , Revshift rear cradle bushings and finally Gforce axles. These should get your car to feel like a much more put together stock V1.

Equillian
03-28-13, 01:45 PM
I'm not a car-buff (yet). What will I see from changing out the motor mounts?

rand49er
03-28-13, 02:01 PM
First thing? Shifter. Do your shifter.

OneFast V
03-28-13, 02:34 PM
I'm not a car-buff (yet). What will I see from changing out the motor mounts?