: HD Radio Issue's

rsf507
02-21-13, 01:06 AM
I am new to HD radio, but I live in a pretty populated area and mine never keeps its signal for more then 10 seconds or so, it keeps switching back and for from HD to non-HD. Does anyone else have this problem? is it normal? also, why is there two HD stations for a lot of channels? thanks for any help

EricDOhio
02-21-13, 10:33 AM
I have the same issues. I don't know what HD is my ATS can never seem to lock on to the station in HD; maybe this can be fixed in a CUE update.

NJRonbo
02-21-13, 04:28 PM
I was with the CUE team yesterday and brought this issue to their attention.

The problem is not CUE. The problem is the HD signal, which is not as strong as AM tower signals and are prone to transmission problems when being bounced off nearby buildings.

Some stations are combatting this problem by installing repeaters to increase signal strength, but I would not anticipate many are actually doing it.

jeffpaletz
02-21-13, 10:56 PM
In Minneapols we have about 12 HD radio stations. 2 are on AM and the rest are on FM. I've had no problems at all. After a few seconds the radio switches to the digital version of the broadcast. The FM stations have additional programs on sub channels. For example, there is 92.5-1, 92.5-2 and 92.5-3. I suggest you go to your dealer and test another car radio that is outside and see what results you get. If you are listening to local stations and you are having these problems it could be your radio. The best way to tell is to try another car with an HD Radio.

ewired
02-24-13, 10:32 AM
I'm having this issue as well. The station changes from HD to regular all the time. Also my CUE only finds one station in HD that I listen to. I understand that it's a "signal" issue but it sure is funny that my 07 Tahoe with a isimple HD module and my SONY in my work van not only pickup more stations that I listen to but they don't drop signal like the CUE does.