: Over Steer

the blur
01-10-13, 01:48 AM
I am looking to setup a 2004 V for track. I want to totally elimate any chance of over steer. Bigger rear tires, smaller front tires, less rear bar. Anything to keep the rear from stepping out.
Since I am new to V's, what is the standard setup for the suspension, on a road course.

thanks!!!

AAIIIC
01-10-13, 09:04 AM
Leave Stability Control on. Done.

Seriously, it's a production sedan. GM designed it for the average incompetent driver to not kill themself. Regardless of how much you try to "oversteer-proof" the car, if you drive it wrong, it'll still oversteer. I guess I just don't understand the point of the question.

I run a square wheel/tire setup on track, and have a larger (Hotchkis) rear sway bar with the stock front bar, and the car still understeers.

Andringa
01-10-13, 11:48 AM
I am looking to setup a 2004 V for track. I want to totally elimate any chance of over steer. Bigger rear tires, smaller front tires, less rear bar. Anything to keep the rear from stepping out.
Since I am new to V's, what is the standard setup for the suspension, on a road course.

thanks!!!

I wouldn't change anything until you actually drive it on track.

What makes you think that your V has too much oversteer?

I think that the majority of us run basically stock suspension on the road course. The most common suspension mods are probably sway bars and lowering springs. The springs are probably more for looks than performance. People that track their cars more than a few times a year usually end up upgrading shocks to something that is adjustable. The KW V3 coilover setup is very popular and can be had for ~$2k.

odla
01-10-13, 12:29 PM
Yea give us some more info. Are you going on track for your first time? Any experience on the track in any car? I feel it's always best to learn on what you have then make tweaks. Like aaiiic said if you can drive any car into a not so friendly situation.

crankedupforit
01-10-13, 01:25 PM