: Computer programmer

Dadillac
12-26-04, 08:36 PM
Since I am new to Cadillac (GM) ownership, I have a question. A lot of companies put out programmers, for many Fords, Dodges, Chevys. Is thier one for Cadillac's? My '02 SLS is just begging me to install a few more horses under the hood. I checked Superchips, and Hypertechs websites, but didn't find anything. Please direct me to a company (if there is one) who can help me. Thanks in advance

Don

BeelzeBob
12-26-04, 09:13 PM
I don't know of any source or reprogramming or re-flashing the PCM for your car. Be careful if you do contemplate it as the PCM's can be brain-deaded very easily....very very easily.

There is no real power or performance to be had with a simple "reprogramming" of the computer for that model it that helps any....the engine is calibrated for best power with full MBT spark and the correct fueling. Granted, with cam changes and such a recalibration would be necessary/helpful but with an otherwise stock Northstar a "chip" is basically going to do nothing.....

On some older packages and other brands there were some engines with relatively conservative calibrations that could be "improved on" for power with more spark and fuel but the Northstar line has been calibrated very aggressively for maximum power from the beginning. That is one reason they make over 1 HP per cubic inch from the factory.

Dadillac
12-26-04, 09:18 PM
Thanks Bbob. I guess that this is a good thing. Every vehicle I have had, has always responded reosonably well, to reflashing. It is comforting to know, that noone makes a programmer, for no gain. Maybe I can figure out a freer exhaust, without being louder. Now that is going to be a challenge.

Don

BeelzeBob
12-26-04, 09:48 PM
Yea...a reflash is the last thing that I would personally do to one of them if it was mine.