: 1999 Deville Blower Motor burn out

Dlewis
12-16-12, 10:41 PM
I am having an issue with a possible electrical short an it is effecting my blower motor. I recently replaced my blower module/ motor almost a year to date and it burn up again? Anyone have any idea what could be wrong?

komobu
12-18-12, 06:52 AM
Very often the blower motor draws too many amps and that burns out the resister/module. I work as a tech and I always check amp draw of the blower motor when replacing the resister/module. More often than not, I replace them in pairs. Also check your cabin air filter. If it is clogged up with debris, then the fan motor will work harder and run hotter consuming more amps and ultimately result in frying the Resister / Module.

Dlewis
12-18-12, 08:02 PM
I will try that. Thank You for your help.

Dlewis
12-19-12, 04:10 PM
Does anyone know if in fact the BCM controls the climate control module in specific the speed regulation of the main blower.
I have pulled a few " History " codes IPC B1552 & PZM B1558
My trip gauge keeps clearing after setting a while, checked battery connection and cleaned terminals. So two problems in one question I guess.
I have read a lot of threads in all relation to these. As well as my blower motor burning up for a second time. Any help w

rodnok01
12-20-12, 11:02 PM
Those codes basically say you lost power at some point in time. Yes the BCM controls hvac, but never heard of on causing a blower to go out. Probably another bad blower, cheapo aftermarket??

Dlewis
12-20-12, 11:33 PM