: Dashboard glitch

martyp1234
12-04-12, 07:20 PM
Hi, I'm new to this, so please be patient. I just purchased an 2002 Escalade. Nice vehicle ! I'm having what I think is an electrical problem. The car runs great, except the dash goes out when I'm driving. Everything seems fine, but all of a sudden the service traction control, battery, fuel gauge, ABS, etc. just quits !. If I shut it off & restart, it's fine for awhile but hen does it again ? It's driving me nuts ! Any help, would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

the cadillac man
12-04-12, 07:51 PM
Hi, I'm new to this, so please be patient. I just purchased an 2002 Escalade. Nice vehicle ! I'm having what I think is an electrical problem. The car runs great, except the dash goes out when I'm driving. Everything seems fine, but all of a sudden the service traction control, battery, fuel gauge, ABS, etc. just quits !. If I shut it off & restart, it's fine for awhile but hen does it again ? It's driving me nuts ! Any help, would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

Sounds like a module is failing if the bcm is failing here is what is affected
Interior and extiorur lights
Windows
Locks
Keyless entry remote
Radio
Gauges
Memory seat
Heated seat
Power seats
Rear window defroster
Wipers
Headlight delay
If any or more in this list is acting up then it is the bcm

martyp1234
12-05-12, 05:11 AM
Thanks for the reply, where would the BCM be locared ?

the cadillac man
12-05-12, 09:48 AM
Thanks for the reply, where would the BCM be locared ?

Under the dash on the drivers side it has a cover on it like the engine computer does.

like_a_rock
12-05-12, 12:23 PM
more than likely the cluster needs to go out for rebuild, internal issue.

martyp1234
12-05-12, 03:45 PM
Thanks for the reply guys. I just started on this, I'll keep things posted as I go . Thanks again.

martyp1234
12-09-12, 05:14 PM