: Why is the left bank now the right bank?

haymaker
12-20-04, 01:36 AM
Does anyone know why the left bank numbers were changed to the right bank? I have been twisting wrenches on a lot of different engines since the very late 1950s and one thing I have learned is itís a dependable way to bust your knuckles.

To get to the point of the thread, GM was always been dependable as per the numbering and or location of the cylinders. As explained by my uncle (a few years back) if I stood behind the engine at the flywheel or from the drivers seat and looked forward my left hand could count front to back the odd cylinders 1,3,5,7 and my right hand could count from front to back the even cylinders 2,4,6,8.

One day I was working on my Eldo. with a 368 ci. Engine and low and behold, left was now right and right was now left! I later worked on a 173 ci. Chevy and it was numbered the same. My N* is the same way. Whoís bright idea was that? Did GM hire a new guy back in the late Ď70ís or early Ď80ís that didnít know his left from his right or what? Why didnít someone say your other left, of did they?

dkozloski
12-20-04, 11:36 AM
I guess the same people also decided some inlines ought to be labled front to back and others back to front. Add in CW vs. CCW on distributor rotation and it all becomes totally incomprehensible. Just the other day I discovered a Continental industrial engine with the wrong rotation distributor installed. Luckily I found I could turn the advance weights and springs over and make it all work to advance rather than retard the spark. It brought back memories of pressure spark retard in the old turbocharged Corvair Monza Spyder. Cheers!

BeelzeBob
12-20-04, 01:39 PM
There is a fairly straightforward answer to the question. I assume , BTW, that you are talking about the fact that most V-8 engines have number one on the left side of the engine in the front position and the Northstar has it on the right side??