: OnStar Issue

dfinkw
10-29-12, 08:21 AM
Hi -newbie here to Caddy forum. Just purchased a 2008 Escalade EXT. Only one issue - the OnStar isn't working. When either the Onstar button or Emergency button is pushed the light to the right blinks red. Spoke with the OnStar folks and they suggested going to the dealer. I'm wondering if there is a fuse (didn't see one listed in the owners manual)? Also have heard there is a seperate battery that can be replaced. Can anyone direct me to where the fuse(s) would be if there is one and/or how to replace the spare battery? Also - where is the "unit" located? Could it be pulled and replaced without dealer involvement? direction/picture links would be helpful. Thanks in advance -

krieghoff
10-29-12, 10:35 AM
OnStar is a great waste of money! Whenever anyone calls them they tell you to take it to your dealer.

You can call me and I can tell you that.

I could never figure out why anyone would pay for OnStar.[COLOR="Silver"]

----------

K9Caddy
10-29-12, 12:56 PM
If you have ever been in an accident, you would have different feelings. I was in a nasty head-on collision a couple years ago and Onstar probably saved the guys' life that hit me. As I gained consciousness from the impact, Onstar was on the phone with me as my cell phone was nowhere to be found. I had an ambulance on site in a matter of minutes as the guy was hanging out his windshield. Also, the sheer size and the airbags of the Escalade saved my life as well, I came out with no scratches, instead there was 32k in repairs.

DG2
10-29-12, 06:00 PM
OnStar is a great waste of money! Whenever anyone calls them they tell you to take it to your dealer.

You can call me and I can tell you that.

I could never figure out why anyone would pay for OnStar.

----------

I just purchased a 2013 Buick Verano for