: Bad car to learn manual on?

dennych
10-19-12, 06:43 PM
OK,

So I have very little experience driving a manual for a few hours in a parking lot. My co-worker recommended I pick up the manual V-wagon anyway. He said learning on it isn't too big a deal. And I will likely regret getting an automatic later on. What do you guys think

pat2t2f
10-19-12, 06:53 PM
I have the manual wagon and I don't find it harder to shift than any other car I have driven. With that said I think there are other issues to consider. First, it might be an expensive clutch to change if it ends up you aren't very good at driving a manual transmission. Second, if its your daily driver you should make sure you like rowing the gears on a regular basis. Some people are good at it but dont really like it much.
Good luck with whatever decision you make.

larry arizona
10-19-12, 07:27 PM
easiest manual to learn on. Pretty hard to stall or buck a car with this much torque. Get it with confidence my man!

MikeG-V
10-19-12, 07:34 PM
Drove a manual vagon today at the v labs expo at Palm beach international raceway. This was the first time I drove a stick in 12 years. It was not complicated. Just don't try for that 7th gear!

BuckThunder
10-19-12, 07:35 PM
The clutch is "butter smooth". I have let several people drive my sedan that have not driven a clutch in a long time and no one has stalled it yet.

larry arizona
10-19-12, 07:37 PM
hardest manual to learn on is an underpowered and over weight car and a thoughtless trans/clutch design. The exact opposite of the V 6M

Mike02z
10-19-12, 07:39 PM
My 14 year old drove my V on a private road and he had no issue learning to drive a manual. He has a heck of a time with my manual Corvette as I replaced the stock shifter with an MGW. Need some strength to shift that one :D

larry arizona
10-19-12, 07:53 PM