: Prices dropping for winter?

bobrules
10-07-12, 10:17 PM
http://www.autotrader.com/cars-for-sale/vehicledetails.xhtml?endYear=2013&zip=08096&listingType=used&engineCode=8+Cylinder&maxPrice=51000&showcaseListingId=327407693&modelCode1=CTS&sortBy=mileageASC&makeCode1=CAD&startYear=2010&showcaseOwnerId=100003694&searchRadius=200&minPrice=35000&listingId=328193502&Log=0

No recaros, but still considering its an '11 and low miles this things gone from 49,9xx to 45,9xx in the past 4-6 weeks since it was originally posted. Not sure if the fact thats its a 6MT is actually hurting the price.

Regardless, I've been stalking V listings online pretty much ever day for the past 6 months and I've noticed alot of 2010/2011s listed for under 48k lately with virtually no miles on them (under 25k), with alot of them under 15k miles. And alot of the same cars staying listed for months at a time.

Seems like the prices have dropped from 51-53k to 47-49k in the past 4-5 months. Is this just the nature of the 2013' model year cycle and/or winter, will prices rebound a bit once the snow season passes in the northeast? Right now its making me very optimistic I'll be able to get a low miles '11 come spring for mid-40s.

baabootoo
10-07-12, 11:17 PM
I think it's just the usual winter and new models are coming out.

MacBuster
10-08-12, 02:41 AM
I wish Wagon prices would start to do the same. They seem to get about a $5000 premium over coupes and sedans!

smackdownCTSV
10-08-12, 12:01 PM
Prices always drop around this time, mainly because the new models come out. Also, it depends on what the dealer gives on trade or get cheap at auction.

allinmyhead
10-08-12, 12:35 PM
When I was shopping I noticed a lot of the low mileage one-model-year old cars were 'factory demos' with little to no bumper-to-bumper warranty left on them because their in-service dates were way back.

bobrules
10-08-12, 01:46 PM