: Northstar ?s

caddywhizkid
12-15-04, 09:51 PM
I am new to this forum. 6 year Caddy tech here. Any ?'s just ask. I've done just about every common repair at least 10 times, so any ?'s just ask.

BeelzeBob
12-15-04, 11:33 PM
Glad to have an expert of 6 years on board.

I am no expert but I have been working on the design/development/manufacturing of the Northstar engine since the late 80's when the project first started to define what the engine would be.

Some of the info (particularily about where install the cooling system pellets) you are posting is wrong. Don't know where you got the misinformation but it is wrong none-the-less.

Stick around, you may learn something. After all, 6 years of taking them apart is not an eternity....LOL.

an01sts
12-16-04, 12:52 AM
Welcome: I only have 26 months of being a Caddy tech. I worked @ Sewell Village Cadillac, Lemmon Road, Dallas, TX. Are you familiar with this dealership? In 1987 or 88, it was rated as # 1 GM dealership in the world for customer satisfaction. Plug 'em into a search engine, and you'll be overwhelmed with the amount of hits it produces. (Also, out of the many dealerships that Carl Sewell owns, another make is Lexus, and I acted as a dual tech, Lexus and Cadillac.)

Anyway, they asked me to come to work for them, doing glass, theft recovery, and light chassis. (I wasn't a seasoned chassis man, and I pulled easy chassis jobs if other work was light, something that usually didn't happen.) I worked there for a year, and I quit because I have a major bad additude. And many belived that I burned major bridges when I left. 9 months later, however, they begged me to come back to work. So I returned for 14 months, and said, "Enough of this working on cars crap."

Oh, by the way, and I don't come close to claiming that I'm a Cadillac expert. But I do offer my help or give my best guess when the questions are in my arena.