: Need oversize timesert kit

Fiero STS
12-13-04, 01:04 PM
Well things just go from bad to worse, after installing all new timeserts in block I was installing cylinder heads. First head went on without a problem. head torqued up fine. Second head was not nearly as fun while doing the final torque on bolt number 6 there was a snap and the bolt got loose. Removed head and found the timesert pulled out. Now I need to find a kit to install the oversize timesert to repair this hole, plus a new head gasket and set of bolts. Any help would be appreciated.

mcowden
12-13-04, 03:55 PM
The gasket and bolts I don't know about, but the Bigsert is probably what you will need for the one that pulled out:

http://www.matthodel.com/portfolio/timesert/bigsert.htm

Are the bolt and gasket definitely in need of replacement? I've never done that before, so maybe I sound like an idiot, but to me it seems like the bolts should be reusable if they went into Timeserts before. Was the gasket visibly damaged?

M C
:cheers:

Fiero STS
12-13-04, 08:20 PM
I know I need the big sert kit but I can't see spending 350 bucks for one hole. Also the head bolts are torque to yield so they have been streched so they need to be replaced. the gasket was compressed for the most part. So I really don't want to try and reuse it as these engines are prone to gasket failure to begin with. I am looking to see if someone has a bigsert kit I could use for one hole.

haymaker
12-13-04, 08:25 PM
Well things just go from bad to worse, after installing all new timeserts in block I was installing cylinder heads. First head went on without a problem. head torqued up fine. Second head was not nearly as fun while doing the final torque on bolt number 6 there was a snap and the bolt got loose. Removed head and found the timesert pulled out. Now I need to find a kit to install the oversize timesert to repair this hole, plus a new head gasket and set of bolts. Any help would be appreciated.
Fiero STS.