: CTS owner looking into STS

jran0823
09-14-12, 08:08 PM
Hey everyone I have been a member on this forum in the CTS section for a couple years. I love my CTS but due to the growing family my wife and myself are looking into STS's. We do NOT want a 3.6, I have been a Tech for many years and have encountered a fair share of issues with the 3.6 over the years so we are leaning towards a Northstar or a V. As of right now we are currently looking at a Sunset Blue 07 STS-4 1SG with a Northstar. Is there any know issues with the newer Northstar? I have dealt with the older Northstar's, but I know they did a block redesign in 05. Are the head gasket issues resolved? Is there anything serious I need to know about these before I pull the trigger on one.

Charles Warren
09-15-12, 12:43 AM
no oil consumption on the newer n* either :) just the front differential bushing and engine mount is what ive encountered but im not complaining

truckinman
09-15-12, 02:02 AM
I don't really see how an 05 or so STS is really justifiably bigger than a CTS if it's for a growing family. Not THAT much more room inside an STS really. Most people when they have a growing family they go from a sport sedan to like a small SUV or mini van. I wouldn't buy mini van if my life depended on it. Merely speculating.

jran0823
09-15-12, 08:05 AM
I won't do a mini van. I'm 6'5" and felt like the back seat is bigger and the car is wider. But my other option is a 07+ Tahoe LTZ

C&C
09-15-12, 08:23 AM
The STS is markedly wider though rear seat legroom is a little short with front seats all the way back, but would be fine for most children (I would think). The trunk is also larger (wider) and hold quite a lot of luggage. I real like the space of the STS (and haven driven the CTS), and compared, I felt a little more cramped, but that was due to knowing the difference. The CTS is a fine car but my preference is STS. JMO

truckinman
09-15-12, 03:01 PM