Cadillac Owners Forum banner

Radio turns on with vehicle start

5K views 19 replies 11 participants last post by  next2pool 
#1 ·
Long time reader, first time poster....

I've only had my CTS for a few weeks, so I guess I'm still a noob. However, a lengthy search in these forums has not yielded a result, so here's the issue: Every time I start the car my radio turns on, always returning to whatever I had been listening to previously. Not a big deal unless my wife gets in to drive and I've been listening to something at a relatively high volume. It's annoying mostly because I can't figure it out. It does not matter if I turn off the radio before the previous shutdown. I've also tried turning off the radio and then saving my #1 setting on the door. It still turns on by itself every time.

Any info would be appreciated. Thanks for your time.

2009 CTS4 DI Premium

#2 ·
Weird. I'm no help, sorry. Dealer issue? Hopefully someone will chime in with everything you need to know.

BTW, how's the weather in Grand Rapids or South Haven or wherever you may be?

#5 ·
If you're set to keyfob #1 and your wife is set to keyfob #2, the car will remember HER settings from #2 when she unlocks the car with #2. It keeps a completely different set of user preferences for each keyfob. Maybe this is where the confusion is coming from. If not, may be a dealer issue.

#6 ·
GM has so many problems with the computer code in the systems operating thier vehicles. Its like MS Windows, always some bug turns up. Where do these computer engineers learn to write all this bad code?

Here is something I read just today about 2013 Malibu. Customer gets a brand new car and its programmed wrong.

The radio may have been programmed with the wrong calibration during assembly, causing these poor sound quality conditions

#7 ·