: Anyone here considered the 13 GT500?

Ste_V_e
06-14-12, 03:35 PM
Just wondering if anybody on the forums is shopping or looking at the 13 GT500?

TriTexan
06-14-12, 04:17 PM
Nope. I have the V Wagon - so there's really no comparison. Plus the Caddy is smoother and more refined. If I wanted a track-day-only car I'd get an Atom or something.

itwepon2
06-14-12, 04:30 PM
Thinking about it. But, it's probably not very good in the snow.

Xaqtly
06-14-12, 04:40 PM
I would probably get a used Z06 before I'd get a GT500, but I am a very performance oriented driver, and I would rather have the superior cornering ability of the Z06 over the GT500. In that vein I'd probably also rather have a ZL1 over a GT500 for the same reason, and for the same reason I got my CTS-V. That magnetic ride control suspension is just amazing in the ZL1.

I like straight line speed and the GT500 is obviously very good at that, but the live axle and the sort of unrefined handling would get on my nerves after a while. I prefer more well rounded cars that can do it all well, like my V wagon. But that's me, I'm just never going to own a car that can't do it all well to some extent.

Darnell
06-14-12, 05:45 PM
I thought about waiting for a 13 GT500, but at the end of the day it is just a Mustang. I ended up with a CTS-V Coupe because it is nasty fast and still turns heads at the valet. If I could have a 13 GT500 for a 6 months while it was still new I'd be up for that, but for me the V has more staying power.

I say this as someone who also owns a 04 Ford Lightning and has similar thoughts when I thought about purchasing a 10+ Camaro.

Kmajecki
06-14-12, 05:47 PM
I had considered it but bought 2011 coupe 3 weeks ago. I just couldn't spend that much on a Mustang. I just hope future offerings from Jaguars' R-series Dont start incorporating that same engine. I believe they currently have a Supercharged 5.0, but a detuned 5.8 would be similar to what gm did with the LSA/LS9..

nynd
06-14-12, 05:57 PM