: KW variant 3

isakhanyan
05-26-12, 05:14 PM
Hey everyone,

I need to get new shocks, mine are going bad. I have ground control coilover kit now but I have decided to just get the KW variant 3. How hard is the installation process? Where can I get them the cheapest?

jclayc
05-27-12, 01:33 PM
Hey - I just finished installing the KWv3 on my 05 V... I bought mine for $2033 shipped from tunedcustoms & they arrived in 3 days - http://myworld.ebay.com/tunedcustoms/&_trksid=p3984.m1497.l2754

The instructions for the ground control kit pretty well sum up what's involved: http://www.cadillacfaq.com/faq/answers/gcinstall/index.html. I'm no pro, so it took me around 5-6 hours for the front and 2 hours for the rear. That's mostly to BS like a stripped wheel stud and strut tower bar bolt...

The only thing that I'd change from those instructions is that you don't have to drop the rear cradle to remove the rear springs. Once you've gotten the rear shock bolt off and . the 21mm bolt holding the control arm, the spring perch will drop but not quite enough. Remove your rear end links and loosen the sway bar - that'll let you swivel it out of the way and you can then pull the springs out. Also, with the KW3 kit on the rear, you'll need to pry out the upper and lower rubber spring mounts.

Last thing I'll say is, for me, I set the front springs waaaay too low out of the box. It made front spring install easier but I ended up having to go in and re-adjust upward.

kciaccio
05-27-12, 02:48 PM
Awesome. let us know how it drives after. Thanks!

AAIIIC
05-28-12, 12:51 PM