: Wire wheel cover advice needed!

sprocket
04-19-12, 11:02 PM
Well, I got a great deal on five wire wheel covers for my '88 Eldorado. They are in pretty decent shape. Never since I owned the car has it had hubcaps of any kind. It instead had alloy rims off a '96 Deville.

I decided to return it to stock and bought used 14" steel rims with tires included. Then I bought the wheel covers. Of course, they came without the locks or a locking tool. This is not a problem for me because I am a machinist and if I can't find locks I can just make them. It would help if I had even ONE so I don't have to reverse engineer too much.

The center hole on the wheel cover is threaded and takes a special wrench to turn the movable part that the threaded hole goes through. I've never seen a wire wheel lock up close but there must be a threaded stud that you screw the wheel cover to with the special wrench.

So here's the question:
If I'm making the wheel locks anyway, can't I just put a threaded hole in the lock and then attach the wheel cover with a bolt that is small enough to fit through the existing threaded hole? I understand this makes them easier to steal, but maybe I could use torx screws.

Sound reasonable?

sprocket
04-21-12, 12:47 PM