: A tune up: Is this fact or fiction???

carguy16
11-21-04, 04:59 PM
Ok, I told my dad I had to save up for a tune up. I told him what needed to be done.

He says the only thing I need is new spark plugs.

He says the water pump doesnt need replacing until it breaks, the distributer cap lasts the life of the car.

I explained this is no ordinary engine, but that changes nothing at all. Why do I even try??? I just want my car to run strong and not have to worry about it at all.

He says im inexperience, which basically means I dont know what im talking about. No, im not experienced.

But, from what I've read here, taking good care of your engine helps it last longer, this includes an oil changes and tune ups!!!

josmoe1100cc
11-21-04, 06:37 PM
He's correct about the water pump. Although it's a common part to go out on cadillac's there is no need to replace it unless it needs it. As for the tune-up I have done this to my car myself. I would recommend changing all the spark plugs, plug wires, distributor cap and rotor, fuel filter, air filter, o2 sensor. All of this can be done for $100 in parts. At least that is how much it cost for my '90 Deville.

RBraczyk
11-21-04, 08:32 PM
He's right. Listen to him, you'll save yourself the money and trouble, my dad let me learn the hard way.

jimwig
11-21-04, 09:58 PM
Ask your Dad to show you where the distributor is on your '94 Fleetwood. If he can find it.
Hint: it's in back of the water pump and is called an Optispark. It might last the life of the car if, when the wate pump goes, it didn't leak into the Optispark causing corrosion, et cetera.
Elsewhere, I have read that when the water pump goes it is wise to replace the Optispark at the same time. And, vice versa, because of the labor involved, it is cheaper ultimately, to have both items new at the same time.

Why not have someone check your emissions. If your engine is running clean, chances are you might not need to do anything.

scurling
11-22-04, 01:07 PM