: Phoenix/Tucson Area tuner?

afaster68
04-04-12, 02:55 PM
Discovered my stock clutch was going out during last weeks autocross. I was wondering if there are any Phx or Tucson shops that would be able to do the clutch/flywheel upgrade? Is there anything else that "might as well be done"?

afaster68
04-05-12, 08:36 PM
OK, so Xtreme motorsports quoted $1650 for an ls7 kit installed. Seems abit pricey since the clutch/flywheel kit can be had for $560........may have to do this on my own. I'm a shadetree mechanic at best

Dan_Gurney
04-05-12, 11:40 PM
Do you autox in phoenix or sierra vista? You should come out to marana sometime. It is a great surface, with lots of room. If you are in tucson i would be happy to help with the clutch install. I am thinking about doing the ls7 in the next year or two myself.

afaster68
04-06-12, 12:05 PM
I've only done the one event in Sierra Vista. I could come up from SV for the clutch install help, that would be awesome! I would definitely come up for that autox. I've heard good things about that place, and the V was a blast, even with 500 treadwear pilots.

Dan_Gurney
04-08-12, 09:14 PM
Sierra vista is a really nice surface. I live halfways between marana and sierra vista so i usually go to marana but try to get to sierra vista when i can (i almost went last week too but had to much lse on my to do lost, and had been to marama the week prior). I cant say i have installed a clutch before but i am fairly good mechanically and looking at the walk tough post it does not look bad with two people. If yours goes well i may do mine quicker. If yours does not go well... i may have the stocker for awhile.... but i think it should go easy.

There is a saterday event at marana this weekend (14th)

How many miles are on your car? What makes you say the stock clutch is bad?

thefulmonty_07
04-08-12, 11:49 PM