: New engine in 2002 STS, is it worth it?

Tenjin
11-16-04, 02:55 PM
Hey everyone, new here. I've been searching for a week to find a place to ask this question and I finally found this forum, so if any of you could help me I would really appreciate it. My mom has a friend who has a 2002 Seville STS with 26k miles that he is selling, but the problem is there is a thrown rod in the engine that blew a hole in the side of the engine, so I would have to replace the engine. He said he would sell it to me for 10k as it was. I went and looked at it and the car is immaculate, interior still smells new. But my question is, would it be worth it to get an engine from a salvage yard and have it replaced, or would I just be getting myself into a whole lot of trouble? How much more than the price of the car should I expect to pay to have it done? I'm a college student right now, and if the expense of running the car and the risk of problems will be higher because of the replaced engine, I don't want to do it. Any help or advice you could give would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

caddydaddy
11-16-04, 03:05 PM
Well, with only 26k miles on it, it's still an almost new car! With a good engine it would probably be worth in the $22-$25k range. Even if it cost you $10k to install a new engine, which it wouldn't, it would be worth it!
With the lower price of a used engine, I would say go for it! Just find a good low mile 01-up STS engine.

Spyder
11-16-04, 04:02 PM
I just put a used engine in my 94 STS. It cost me about 2400, all told, and I did the work myself. For a shop to do it would have been another two grand. I don't know how much more an engine for a 2001+ will be, but if you can get one in for under 8 grand, it'd be a hell of a deal. Go for it, I say!

95Concours
11-16-04, 06:26 PM
I just have one question, how in the hell did he throw a rod at only 26k miles? If it was caused by his driving, you might want to make sure the tranny isnt blown too....

No More Cadillac's