: Issue with brand new Arnott Industries passive shocks

rugbeee
01-31-12, 10:41 PM
So I finally decided to upgrade to brand new front Arnott shocks after blowing out my originals and a second set from a parts car.

Called Arnott and they were very friendly, paid $70 for air shipping as it was the only way I was sure to avoid brokerage fees to Canada. It's my first time removing the spring so I was slow on the first one, but it was straight forward and the second one would be no problem. But I noticed I was having trouble getting the nut on the shock to compress the spring.

So I compressed spring more and more until I noticed the shock was not staying fully extended. Got frustrated and called Arnott, they said it was normal but this has got to be an issue. Take a look at the video and let me know if this looks broken.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7aYBsNbMtQI

rugbeee
02-01-12, 07:14 PM
Called again, showed them the video, they said pump the shock until it extends fully. Tried that for ten minutes and the only thing that happened was it became easier and easier to compress and extend. Definately doesn't compress consistently, and now there is a sound when compressing similar to my broken shocks that leaked all their fluid (no fluid though, they said the sound was normal. Am I getting the run around? This was definately not an issue with the other arnott strut I worked on first

48548m
02-01-12, 07:20 PM
I always thought shocks should stay fully extended and be hard to push in..... My ranchos were really stiff.

rugbeee
02-03-12, 09:09 AM