: New owner - Recaro issue???

mikec1185
01-16-12, 06:12 PM
I've been browsing the forums here for the last several months but this is the first time I am posting anything...I recently picked up a fully loaded 2012 black diamond coupe and I have to say I absolutely love the car...It handles amazing, looks even better and gets attention wherever I go (maybe even more than my yellow Z06)...I only have one small issue...The day after I picked up the car I noticed that the side bolster of the Recaro seat on the driver's side had scuffs and marks on it...I brought it back to the dealer and they said they'll replace the seat cover (As well as the passenger side door panel which had a big scratch in it)...A few days later, after a friend and fellow V owner pointed it out, I realized that the leather on the right side of the bottom part of the seat looks completely different than the other side...It feels thinner and has a a lot of stretch marks in it...I have to show the dealer this when I drop it off this week...Now I noticed that the the leather on the side bolster on the passenger seat is coming off...It's getting all scuffed up and I have barely had anyone else in the car with me...I am just wondering if this is normal or if anyone else has encountered this issue? I don't think this should be happening on a $70k car!

dironvictorious
01-16-12, 09:14 PM
I have a 2010 CTS-V with black recaros. I bought the car new about 18 months ago. I am also a vette owner, mine is yellow but a coupe:)

I have creases in my seat bottoms and some slight scuffs on side bolsters. The design makes it nearly impossible to get in and out without putting some weight on the thigh bolsters. The shoulder/back bolsters are more easily avoided on entrance/exit, but while sitting you will lean against them and inevitably put creases on them too.