: NAVTraffic, NAVWeather & OnStar DestinationDownload-ODD have never worked -2011 STS

Caddy Rocks
12-15-11, 11:00 PM
Just bought a brand new 2011 Cad STS with the Factory NAV System and I have a paid up subscription to XM Radio, XM NAVTraffic and XM NAVWeather. The problem is that the NAVTraffic and NAVWeather are totally non-op from inception (no icons on the screen at all). XM Radio (music) and regular GM Navigation work fine. The Cad dealer says the 2011 Cad STS in not capable but I think they are wrong. What up?

Also, altho Turn-by-turn verbal commands work ok, OnStar Destination Download -ODD (full direct download into a NAV screen) does not work and OnStar tech support says it is for Gen 8 and beyond but, in my case, even tho I have Onstar Gen 8.2, they said I dont have a compatible NAV System! What up with that !? Any help is very much appreciated! Thanks

ddalder
12-16-11, 01:39 AM
Unfortunately, everything you have been told is correct. The navigation system in the STS, even the 2011 model year, does not support XM NAVTraffic, XMNAV Weather or ODD. I'm curious why you would think that the GM dealer and OnStar are wrong when there is nothing in the manual to the contrary? I would like to have these features too, but it's never going to happen with the factory STS nav.

Caddy Rocks
12-16-11, 01:13 PM
Many thanks for the prompt reply. It is immensely helpful to have your input. Here's my "reason why" and my "so called" proof !!:

(NOTE: The XM Coverage area is not the problem because my 2012 Cad SRX loaner works just fine with both Nav Traffic and NAV Weather)

For example, the Cadillac web site touts the fact that the 2011 STS features XM NAV Traffic for cars with a NAV system.

... CADILLAC web link follows ... scroll to “STS SMART TECHNOLOGY” to read about the XM NAV Traffic Features on the 2011 STS:

http://www.cadillac.com/2011-sts-touring-sedan.html