: Need Technical Information about Northstar engine/drivetrain.

85silverSeville
11-02-04, 02:29 AM
Hello Cadillac forum members,
I am a newbie here and to cadillac engines, I have a 1985 cadillac seville which is a great looking car, but the 4.1L engine took a s**t and now the water,oil, and fuel seem to be mixing together and its just a huge pain.

Instead of trashing such a nice looking and functional car, I have decided that maybe, a Northstar engine and drivetrain could be swapped in. Now I know mounts, and electrical systems wont match up, but I have a few questions regarding other details about the Northstars.

1. What year did Cadillac offer Northstars, and which years are best ones?
2. What kind of displacement do they have, good bottom ends? How much does it take to modify them and which is the best mod, porting heads, increasing the flow of the exhaust, intake and fuel system upgrades? etc.
3. Which year of Northstars are the best stoutest engines, and how long do they last compared to a regular sbc thats maintained well?
4. what are the problem areas with these engines and what should I avoid?
5. How much can I find a Northstar engine/tranny/ and prob front axel, and what models had these cadillacs.
6. How wide is the front axel of the FWD Northstars, where the axel shafts mount with U joints?, I want to know if It is close to the same width as the sevilles current axel.
7. and Lastly, is the Northstar mounted sideways or is it conventionally mounted with the pullies up front?

I know these are a lot of questions, but I wouldnt ask any other forum to help me out and provide information to this extent on the Northstar engine. thanks for the help.

BeelzeBob
11-02-04, 03:30 AM