: 87 Brougham A/C problem

TopherS
09-25-11, 05:57 AM
Newbie here. Yesterday, I bought a 1987 Brougham d'Elegance with 61K miles on it. I am trying figure out the climate control on it. I think it may have a problem.

I set the system to AUTO and the temp to 72. Outside temp was about 80 or so. The system turned on the fan and it ran consistently at high speed and was blowing cold, but then, would start blowing hot air. And, the fan speed never dropped...it just stayed at high speed (for about 30 minutes of driving or so). If I set the system to LOW, the fan speed would go to low, but the air will come out hot. I seemed to get the most success by setting the temp to AUTO and the temp to 65. It only blew out hot air a couple of times that way.

I traded my 2001 Park Avenue for this car, as it is in fantastic condition. Plus, I've had other cars with automatic climate control. My other cars never had a problem with the air going from hot to cold and back again.

Am I using this Cadillac's system wrong or is there a problem that I can fix?

Thanks in advance for your help.

jayoldschool
09-25-11, 10:19 AM
Check the pressure in the system. Is it still R12 or has it been converted to R134a? The incorrect behaviour may be a programmer fault.

TopherS
09-25-11, 12:28 PM
I don't believe that the car has been converted to R134a. When you say that the behavior is a programmer fault...does that refer to the ECC unit in the dash...or to something else? Sorry for my ignorance...I don't much about HVAC systems.

Another question...under the hood is a 3-wire connector on the passenger side, near the firewall and A/C components. It is disconnected and when I connect them, I hear a pump sound. Do you have any idea what that is for?

Thanks.

drmenard
09-25-11, 12:55 PM