: Time for a Tune Up...

DopeStar 156
10-25-04, 11:54 AM
I've owned my Caddy since May and I haven't done this yet, so I think it's about time. I've never done one before and I haven't had one done to any of my cars so I'm new at it. What do I need to do to complete this task and what do I need to buy? Spark plugs are the only things I think I need, but that's why I'm checking in. If I'm wrong please correct me before I attempt to do this in two weeks nxt time I go home. Thanks.

AElayyat
10-26-04, 07:28 PM
you're on the right track, get a set of wires, dist. cap, rotor, fuel, air, crank vent. filters, pcv valve, set the timing, change the oil while your at it, and set the idle speed and any necessary adjustments the carb may need.

Adam
10-26-04, 10:15 PM
:yeah: :suspense: :D

DopeStar 156
10-26-04, 11:28 PM
Woah! Damn. Haha I may have to take a day off from work there. How complicated is the whole job?

DaveSmed
10-26-04, 11:32 PM
The biggest pain is the fuel filter, and thats not much. its right where the fuel line goes in the carb, right on top. no getting under the car even.

AElayyat
10-27-04, 01:01 AM
I have never worked on a 5.0 but the closest would be my 4.1 and my dad's 472's. I would say depending on your level of skill and how much tuning the carb needs (if any) it should be 2 hrs. or less.

barge master
10-27-04, 05:52 AM
Don't let anyone fool you Dope, you're gonna need some time to do it, esp. if you do the wires. BTW I would do them if they've never been changed. The plugs on the RH side can be a huge pain in the nuts, even with a variety of sockets and swivels. Keep a close eye on vacuum hoses. You will likely find a lot that are questionable.

RBraczyk
10-27-04, 07:32 AM
Hey, I want to hear no complaints about spark plugs with you guys. Your cars are 6 inches off the ground. My truck is close to 18. I can barely reach the second plug back on either bank. Need a fricken stool to get even further back.

jrc520
10-27-04, 01:59 PM