: Fleetwood towing options

Alscad56
08-21-11, 10:03 PM
Hi, newbie here. I own a 1994 Cadillac Fleetwood and was wondering what can I do to make the car adequate for towing a 3000 pound camper trailer with dual axles and electric brakes? I'm planning on putting air bags in the rear springs and a hitch with torsion bars. Can the running gear handle the tow?
Must I change the diff. axle ratio? I have the base Fleetwood model.
The car does not have the towing package.
I have some people telling me the car is fine. On the other hand, I get opposite feedback from others. Any experts out there?
Thanks!

sven914
08-21-11, 11:52 PM
I personally wouldn't want to do it, but the stock Fleetwood should have no problem towing 3000lbs. The towing package could handle 7000lbs, and the only real upgrades were in a slightly stiffer suspension, a heavy duty cooling system and a different differential. The transmission and engine were vertically identical (the towing package may have used the mythical 4L60e-HD transmission, which was supposedly designed with stronger gear sets, but it's still the same gear box).

One thing I would do is get a coolant and transmission temperature gauge. Towing a trailer is going to stress any dirveline, and you need to have something to monitor it.

csbuckn
08-22-11, 01:13 AM
I'm with Sven, get a gauge for the coolant, especially if you plan on doing this a lot or have to go up and down hills. Maybe get the expensive brake pads also.

turbojimmy
08-22-11, 05:09 PM
If you do it, get a big external trans cooler too.

outsider
08-22-11, 05:32 PM
yeah you'll have no problem in the power department, but as all said, may want to do some extra cooling precautions. gauges and tranny cooler for sure.

Alscad56
08-22-11, 06:21 PM