: fuel injected 350 into 85 coupe

jak89
08-15-11, 07:40 PM
Alright so im new to the v8 world i've worked on engines before but only inline 4 and 6 cylinder nissan engines. I no longer have any of those types of cars I've moved on to the v8s

With that said I know nothing but the very basics about v8's and cadillacs,I want to put a injected 350 in my coupe to replace the 4100

So my main questions are will a injected 350 bolt up to the 4100 tranny, and yes I do know about the power limits of the stock drivetrain on this car but thats further down the road

also I need some info on hooking up the little things like fuel lines,if the fuel pump needs to be bigger,what I would have to do to hook up the alternator,and things like that

I was also wondering if the wiring harness for the motor just hooks up to one ecu so that I can just put the new harness and ECU in?

cadillac kevin
08-15-11, 07:56 PM
I'm not sure whether you mean a tbi 350 or a vortec 350, but either will bolt in (given you get a set of chevy motor mounts for the 90-96 fwb. the 4100's ecm will not work with the 350, or any other motor. I would advise changing your transmission when you change the engine. the 200r4s arent known for handling alot of power in stock form (even a mild 350 chevy's torque will eat it up in time). a 700r4 or a turbo 350 or turbo 400 trans wil handle the power alot better.
it is cheaper in the long run (and not much more in the short run). to change the transmission when you change the motor (not including cost of transmission) you're looking at a couple hundred more, as opposed to at least $1500 more a while down the road when your current trans bites the dust.
personally if you're looking for an easier installation, I'd go carb'ed on the 350 and put a turbo 350 or 700r4 behind it.

I dont remember if the 350s had the fuel pump in the tank or on the motor.