: Anyone familliar with the Audi A8 (D2)?

N0DIH
08-08-11, 12:20 PM
Thinking of buying an A8. Why? AWD. My new job puts me on backroads only to get to work/back, no way to take highways or even US highways. All backroads.

So being my wife never will give up the Suburban and she likes driving my Buick Park Ave all the time, I need something else.

With a budget in the $6k range I can't find any AWD cars short of the A8 or Mercedes 4matics. Nothing GM, not going Japanese cars (sorry, just personal preference). Seems A8's are pretty unknown by most.

310 hp V8, 5 speed auto, AWD (E-lockers front/rear) 50/50 Torsen T2 diff in the middle. This will do me nicely....

brandondeleo
08-08-11, 12:46 PM
I have no personal experience with them, but I have heard very good things about A8s.

N0DIH
08-08-11, 12:48 PM
I have heard the trans can bite ya if you have one that was ignored (Audi had originally had a "fill for life trans", that has been changed from what I have heard).

I am looking at a 98 that is in nice shape that has already had the trans replaced. And the alum body, no more rusting my car away up here!

brandondeleo
08-08-11, 12:49 PM
They're a little plain on the outside (my opinion of most Audis pre brand new), but very nice on the inside.

2005CTS-V
08-08-11, 01:33 PM
None with the A8 but I had a 2001 A6 Quattro, 4.2, very nice ride, comfortable, good power, about 300 hp, very easy to work on (I only had it about six months, changed brakes, oil, plugs)

Everyone warning me about the trans bugged me to the point that I got rid of it, we needed something larger anyway.

orconn
08-08-11, 01:38 PM