Cadillac Owners Forum banner

carburetor question

2K views 15 replies 6 participants last post by  cadillac_al 
#1 ·
Hi all,

So I got myself a new service kit for my 68 DeVille carburetor, and did everything by the book, I serviced the carburetor, replaced needles, seals, ball, jet, valve and so on, till the time I was about to install it back on the engine....

The gasket appears to be wrong.

Have a look at the picture. and tell me what you think....end result, engine does not start when I install it. I am thinking the gasket is blocking something. There are too many tiny things on the carburetor but the seal seems to only have three openings. Someone who has seen this before, may be able to help me out here. Cheers

Attachments

See less See more
#2 ·
I am no expert on carbs but you might want to check that you have all the correct setting to allow the right amount of fuel being that you did some what of a rebuild; When I did mine I had to change some setting on it because I was not getting any fuel at all. also blow some air through it to see if you have dirt or any other crap that could have made it's way in when you where putting it back together. Hope it helps best of luck.

#4 · (Edited)
As amunderdog suggests, it´s important comparing old gasket with new one. If you have bought a generic Rochester Quadrajet rebuild kit, not all of them would fit 68 cadillacs: http://motors.shop.ebay.com/i.html?...jet&_osacat=0&bkBtn=&_trksid=p4506.m270.l1313

This is the correct gasket for your '68 cadillac according to Rockauto: http://www.rockauto.com/catalog/moreinfo.php?pk=120920 It costs less than $ 3.00 so you could try with it.