: Rough Running 4.9 - Please Help !

Moms95DeVille4.9
08-04-11, 04:06 PM
Hello All,

I've been reading posts here for a good while and recently decided to join because I finally need to ask for some help. Please, please help !

I'm a competent DIY mechanic, and I'm not afraid to take things apart. But I don't understand everything and I don't have any specs or manuals.

My Mom's car is a 1995 DeVille with the 4.9. A few months ago it started running rough. It seemed like it was missing. The severity of the roughness would occasionally diminish when the car was warm. Occasionally but not always. My Dad said that once he noticed that at a traffic light it got almost all better within the 1 minute they were at the light, and it ran much better than before the traffic light. They drove it home and parked it and the next time it was started it was back to running poorly. I didn't experience this, and I don't always trust that my Dad's senses are as mechanically attuned as mine. Since the car basically has only had oil filter and synthetic oil changes every 3,500 miles (and basically nothing else) since 1995 I figured it was time to give it a thorough "tune-up" and I didn't mind spending money on it. It now has 80,000 miles on it. So,

I replaced the car, rotor, plugs, wires, and PCV. I went for the copper terminal distributor cap (much more expensive). All aftermarket parts. That didn't fix it. All the spark plugs that came out of the car looked used but fine. Same with the wires. Same with the cap. The car continued to run poorly.