: Is this OK (boost question)

longbow0404
08-01-11, 10:28 AM
First off all; Hi everybody, Im new to the posting but not new to the forum.

My question is that recently a have notice that the car is boosting a little shy of the last line on the gauge on first and second gear and on the rest of gears (3-4-5) it goes between the last line and 15psi

Im thinking that each line is 3PSI so that would be 1&2 gear just shy of 12 psi and 3, 4, and 5 maybe 13.5 to 14 psi.

Is this normal? Thank you guys in advance

Miami weather 90 F
Mods: 2.55 upper / air intake mod / cat backs / 160 thermostat / tune (W4M)

All pulls where done with the TC on (street pull) Could this be the reason?

cbloveday
08-01-11, 10:50 AM
I cannot comment on whether it is ok or not but I can say that my boost gauge appears to reflect 10 psi.

However, when I log it over several seconds, and then look at the chart (which is very high resolution), it spend the majority of the time around 9.5 and goes to a peak of 10.15. I guess I am saying the gauge may not have a high resolution and it could be ok.

Perhaps someone more knowledgable can comment.

longbow0404
08-01-11, 11:21 AM
thanks for the imput cbloveday, I was thinking that it could be a combination of Not a acurate gauge, Hot weather and the TC on.
since all of this will affect the boost reading.

thebigjimsho
08-01-11, 12:27 PM
I don't know if the TC or torque management would affect boost. But I don't like our tiny gauge...

KevinR70
08-01-11, 01:24 PM
Gauge in my car is off. I was reading about 11.5 with just a 2.55 upper (which actually seems like what you should be getting with 2.55). I had Jesse put on an 8.5 lower to go with 2.55 upper this past weekend and my gauge is maxing out over 15psi, but the dyno showed me at 13.5. I imagine you are around 11.5 or so with just the upper. I also had Jesse port the blower, snout, and tb and add a CAI, but I lost a couple of psi with the Kooks headers he put on. Bottom line, don't trust the gauge.