: Guidance & Advice Needed: 83 Fleetwood brougham 4.1 engine swap

spiralmind
07-31-11, 09:18 PM
I know this has been mentioned a few times on this forum. I'm looking for specific guidance and general advice on replacing a 4.1 (HT4100) engine with something with more horsepower. I'm leaning towards an olds 455... from what i hear this would be a good swap and should match up to the original tranny (although i'm open to changing transmissions to match an engine i will be happy with).

I'd like to hear from someone who has done this before or any general advice on the subject.

I'm looking to ditch all the glam and computerized nonsense that came with the car. I've already taken the engine out and its basically a shell awaiting a new engine. This is a project i have been putting off for about 5 years but looking to finally get it done. I'd like to get my old car back on the road again as a weekend driver.

Thanks in advance for any help on the subject. :)

csbuckn
07-31-11, 10:17 PM
What are you looking for in a weekend driver? 455 would be a good engine for the car but you would have to put, at least, a 700R4 tranny behind it.

sven914
07-31-11, 10:43 PM
^Right. The THM 200 (the stock transmission) is not durable enough to hand the power of the 455. The THM 700 is a Chevrolet transmission (with overdrive), so you will need a Chevy to BOP bell housing adapter. Another option would be the TH 400, which does not have overdrive, but would bolt directly to the 455.

cadillac kevin
07-31-11, 11:30 PM
the stock turbo 200 trans will get destroyed the first or second time you drive it so upgrading to a beefier trans is a necessity. I'd go for a turbo 400. only 3 gears and no overdrive, but its what came with the 455's originally

@csbuckn, just out of curiosity how much torque can a stock 700r4 handle?

csbuckn
07-31-11, 11:35 PM