Cadillac Owners Forum banner

1968 Cadillac Deville Ragtop Resurrection

9K views 52 replies 9 participants last post by  CADforce69 
#1 · (Edited)
Newbie here... I have posted one other thread about my car but I thought I'd start a build thread for it as well. I bought the car when I was 19 for $2K, drove it during college then parked over the past 18 years. It hasn't even been turned over in that time. It's got the original 472 in it and the usual options.

I know its going to be a truck load of cash but I am planning on a frame off restoration. I grew up in california so I have an affinity for low-riders. Being that I already have a 1963 Impala, I promised my wife I would not do that to this car. Instead I am going to go for a mean low-rod look with an air suspension and I promise no 13" wheels!

I am very limited with what I can do on the car myself as I do not have a usable garage at our house being that we live in downtown Portland, Oregon. Currently the car is stored in a small garage at an apartment building that my buddy owns. Its at a circa 1950's building so the garage is small. That coupled with the X-frame that I am storing equals very little room to work. There are a couple places in town that supposedly rent shop space for you to work on your car but they are full right now. I have also got a shop that has done some other work for me so the work will in all likelihood be split with me doing some in them doing some.

I am going to start on trying to get rid of as much of the rust I can so it does not get any worse. I am hoping it is not too bad once I get down to bare metal. I have attached some pics below that I took this weekend. I have also pasted the URL to all of the pictures in PhotoBucket.

http://s1083.photobucket.com/albums/j384/68DevilleRag/?start=0

No telling how long this will take so pack a lunch and enjoy...

See less See more
#2 ·
nice!