: interested in getting a CTS-V

simgolfer
07-23-11, 01:48 PM
I am a newbie to this forum and the Cadillac in general. I am interested in getting a CTS-V as my next vehicle but have some concerns that I hope someone can address for me.

1) Does the CTS-V come with the dreaded 1-4 skip shift like the Corvette?

2) What type of real world gas mileage are owners getting? My commute is not too long (7 miles one way) but mostly city streets so I typically am on the low end of MPG estimates in my prior vehicles.

3) Although Cadillac has a maintenance program now, are there issues with CTS-V's that I should be aware of that could make the car spend too much time at the dealer and not on the road with me? So far, I have read about differential issues.

Thanks for the advice.

muohio
07-23-11, 02:24 PM
The V does have the skip shift, but it's near impossible to trigger. The Vette gearing allows the rpms to build slower causing the chance of skip shift to occur. In 5 months, I've yet to see the skip light come on while I would trigger it once a day in my GTO and maybe once a week in the Grand Sport Vette.

My commute is 15 miles with half being in Atlanta city traffic. I average around 14-15 mpg consistently.

Nothing major that I'm aware of as most of the components have been perfected over the years. The LSx engines are solid, the CTS has had 4 years on the platform, the suspension and rear end of beefy.

MReiland
07-23-11, 03:03 PM
Rear diff issues are the previous generation V's

smackdownCTSV
07-23-11, 03:34 PM
Just get it.

Cub Cadet
07-23-11, 04:12 PM
1.) No skip shift feature that I have ever felt on my 6spd.
2.) In my 5.3 mile commute (one way in the city), I average 19mpg. When I get out on the freeway, I am up to 24mpg.