: I still love my caddies...

creeker
07-18-11, 12:21 AM
but I've always had a thing for Jaguars too, I've been doing some research on them, I want to spend around $5000.00 on one,
With the info. i've come up with, the 1995-97 XJ6 seems like a good model, everything I've found on them is very positive,
has anyone here had any hands on experience or knowledge of the cars? Thanks

orconn
07-18-11, 12:45 AM
Yes, I have had extensive experience with Jags. Let just say that the first thing you will need upon acquiring your $5000. Jag is a knowledgeable and reliable Jaguar mechanic. It is also important that you set aside $3000. to $4000. a year for maintenance and repairs (it helps if you can do some of the work yourself). The good news is that there are plenty of Jaguar parts available from specialty parts houses, the bad news is the cost a bit more than Caddy parts.

I personally have enjoyed Jaguars in various forms for over forty years and certainly understand their appeal, but I have to approve of Sub's "caveat" if you can't afford one new you probably can't afford a used one. Remember the price of parts and labor to work on these cars is geared to there original new retail price, not what you can pick up a clapped out example for used. It is the same situation as an older Cadillac, except more so!

Sorry if I am a bit too "realistic" about maintaining these lovely old crocks, but reality is reality. If you are prepared to put up with the cost and head aches a nice Jag will provide some really fine motoring!

creeker
07-18-11, 12:57 AM
Thanks for being realistic, I know they have their quirks, there is a nice 97 XJ6 in my area for sale, 70,000 miles for $5200. I will think on it.

Playdrv4me
07-18-11, 01:11 AM