: 1968 472 motor questions

68convert
07-09-11, 03:19 AM
Ok guys newbie here. I/we, me and the wife. Have a '68 convertible with a 472. The motor is a '72 472. Seems to be running hot. Just rebuilt the motor. Motor was hot tanked, new cam bearings, new cam, it's not stock but just above stock. Comp cam. new lifters. New springs matched to cam. Stock bore and pistons. new bearings throughout. Stock rockers. new water pump. Pertronix ignition. Probably need to replace vacuum advance module, it doesn't seem to change when vacuum hose is pulled off carb to set timing. Timing is at 8 degrees. I don't remember what total advance is. Good oil pressure goes to about 45-50 when fired idles down to 35 to 30 when hot, 40 or so when driving. Stock intake and exhaust manifolds, duals to back. Running stock quad carb. Has ac pump on motor. A.I.R. ports blocked off in heads. Think thats about it. 180 thermostat. new plugs. Has about 80 miles on it now.

Ok now to problem. Exhaust ports on heads at the manifolds have turned white did it almost right away. The intake manifold at the middle right has also turned white hot now and the opposite side where the choke coil spring has gotten a little warm also. The carb has not been rebuilt, trying to get to it. Not too confident on rebuilding myself. Temp gauge stays under half way idleing, it has overheated a couple times but got it cooled down ok. I have ran a Carter carb but it's too small, only a 625. plugs look good, not white hot or looking lean, they have some fuel residue on them. I do think the carb is trash, but it ran the same with the other carb, just not enough fuel with the Carter.