: '96 Fleetwood Brougham Leaking Back Wheel Well?

red96fleetwood
06-20-11, 12:38 PM
Hello!
Can anyone tell me what and where this leak is coming from. I have noticed a puddle around my back wheel on the passenger side, it looks like oil. I can't really tell from where it is coming from,it just started a week or so ago, looks like a leak coming from the wheel well or somewhere up in that area. We just got this '96 Cadillac FWB a few weeks ago and love it to death, but I am new to these cars. We got it with 102,000 on it, drives very nice. Our tiny 2000 Chevy Metro got totaled from a tap in the back, so we went from one extreme to the other and do not regret it. A little hesitation when accelerating after slowing down, but other than that and the leak, everything is AOK so far.Any info would be appreciated.

turbojimmy
06-20-11, 12:51 PM
The only oily liquid back there is brake fluid. Probably a wheel cylinder or a rusted line. If all that liquid is brake fluid, you should definitely feel a difference in the brake pedal.

outsider
06-20-11, 12:56 PM
could it be brake fluid?
I would start looking there. Take the rear wheel off and have a look around at the brake components.

red96fleetwood
06-20-11, 01:00 PM
Hey Thanks Turbojimmy, my wife has been the one driving it and she just did notice the brakes being a bit spongy last night, off to the mechanic I go.

I shall return!

csbuckn
06-20-11, 03:03 PM
That's a lot of brake fluid. Good thing you have a seperate resevior for front and rear brakes.

turbojimmy
06-20-11, 03:09 PM
That's a lot of brake fluid. Good thing you have a seperate resevior for front and rear brakes.